The School of Humanities, Social Sciences and Interdisciplinary Studies at Mount Mary is rich with talented faculty who care about their students.

Wendy Weaver
Dean of Humanities, Social Sciences and Interdisciplinary Studies
Phone: (414) 930-3505
Email:  weaverw@mtmary.edu

Divider

Justice and Sociology

Sister Joanne Poehlman, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3398
Email: poehlmj@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Anthropology; culture; gender, race and ethnicity

Lynne M. Woehrle, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Chair
Phone: (414) 930-3521
Email: woehrlel@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Conflict analysis and peacebuilding, environmental sustainability, families in transition, mediation, social theory, sociology

back to top  |  back to program

Divider

Communication

Marmy Clason, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Department Chair
Phone: (414) 930-3143
Email: clasonm@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Gender and organizational communication, intercultural communication

Jennifer Peterson, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3389
Email: petersoj@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Health communication

back to top  |  back to program

Divider

English

Ann Angel, M.F.A
Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3109
Email: angela@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Creative fiction, nonfiction writing, writing for children and young adults 

Debra Brenegan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director
Phone:  (414) 930-3132
Email: brenegad@mtmary.edu
Expertise:  Creative writing, American literature, women's literature, journalism & new media writing

Jennifer Kontny, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor and Composition Coordinator
Phone: (414) 930-3665
Email: kontnyj@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Composition theory, new media, research methodologies, and writing program administration

Laura Otto, M.F.A.
Associate Professor and Department Chair
Phone: (414) 930-3379
Email: ottol@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Writing for New Media, creative writing, journalism

Paula Reiter, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3412
Email: reiterp@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: 19th century British fiction, narrative techniques, novel writing, linguistics

Adjunct Faculty

Mary Beth Duffey, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor
Phone: (414) 930-3164
Email: duffeym@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Composition, film as literature, literature and healing professions, women writers, study abroad in Ireland and Guatemala             

Donna Foran, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor
Phone: (414) 930-3182
Email: forand@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: British and American Literature, Victorian literature            

Paul Gagliardi, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor
Phone: (414) 930-3191
Email: gagliarp@mtmary.edu
Expertise: American literature, literary theory, composition

Tanya V. Keenan, M.A.
Adjunct Instructor, Caroline Scholars Director
Phone: (414) 930-3254
Email: keenant@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Composition.             

Christopher Mohar, M.F.A.
Adjunct Instructor
Phone: (414) 930-3350
Email: moharc@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Creative writing     

Lisa Beranek Terasa, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor
Phone: (414) 930-3479
Email: terasal@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Composition, literature, popular culture, food and literature      
        
Jane A. Thompson
Adjunct Instructor
Phone: (414) 930-3480
Email: thompsj@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Composition and literature            

back to top  |  back to program

Divider

History

S. Linda Marie Bos, SSND, M.A., Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Department Chair
Phone: (414) 930-3127
Email: boslm@mtmary.edu
Expertise: online teaching, religious and general history

Julie Tatlock, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3478
Email: tatlockj@mtmary.edu
Expertise: World civilizations, United States history, Middle East, Africa, Tudor England, United Nations

back to top  |  back to program

Divider

International Studies/World Languages

Mary Ellen Kohn-Buday, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3271
Email: kohnbudm@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Spanish literature in the Golden Age, languages for translation, culture

Nan Metzger
Study Abroad Program Director
Phone: (414) 930-3338
Email: metzgern@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Study abroad

Joe Fricano
Adjunct Instructor, Spanish
Phone: (414) 930-3187
Email: fricanoj@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Spanish language and pedagogy, bilingual education

Jason Meyler, Ph.D
Assistant Professor and Department Chair
Phone: (414) 930-3341
Email: meylerj@mtmary.edu
Expertise: US Latino/a and Latin American Literature and Culture

Kathryn Meyler
Adjunct Instructor, French
Phone: (414) 930-3342
Email: meylerk@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: French language and culture

Veronica Fregoso
Adjunct Instructor, Spanish
Phone: (414) 930-3185
Email: fregosov@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Spanish language

back to top  |  back to program

Divider

Philosophy

Catherine Homan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor 
Phone: (414) 930-3103
Email: homanc@mtmary.edu
Expertise: 19th and 20th Century Continental, philosophy of art, philosophy of play, ethics, history of philosophy and philosophy of education

Jennifer Hockenbery Dragseth, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Chair
Phone: (414) 930-3231
Email: hockenj@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: History of philosophy, ancient philosophy, ethics, philosophy of religion, philosophy of women

Austin Reece, ABD
Instructor
Phone: (414) 930-3409
Email: reecea@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Ethics, philosophy of religion, continental philosophy, philosophy of literature, Freud

back to top  |  back to program

Divider

Theology

Shawnee Daniels-Sykes, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3152
Email: sykess@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Moral theology, biomedical ethics, African-American theology
Download CV

Donald Rappé, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Chair
Phone: (414) 930-3405
Email: rapped@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Biblical theology, study abroad in Rome

Helga Kisler, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3263
Email: kislerh@mtmary.edu

back to top  |  back to program