More in this section More in this section

Humanities Faculty

The School of Humanities at Mount Mary is rich with talented faculty who care about their students.

Kathleen Dougherty, Ph.D.
Dean of Humanities
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 498
Email:  dougherk@mtmary.edu

Divider

Communication

Marmy Clason, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Communication Chairperson
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 471
Email: clasonm@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Gender and organizational communication, intercultural communication

Jennifer Peterson, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 295
Email: petersoj@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Health communication

back to top  |  back to program

Divider

English

Ann Angel, M.F.A
Associate Professor and English Graduate Program Director
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 296
Email: angela@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Creative fiction, nonfiction writing, writing for children and young adults.

Mary Beth Duffey, Ph.D.
Instructor
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext.362
Email: duffeym@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Composition, film as literature, literature and healing professions, women writers, study abroad in Ireland and Guatemala.             

Donna Foran, Ph.D.
Instructor
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 488
Email: forand@mtmary.edu
Expertise: British and American Literature, Victorian literature.            

Paul Gagliardi, ABD
Instructor
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 269
Email: gagliarp@mtmary.edu
Expertise: American literature, literary theory, composition.

Heather Henry, M.F.A.
Instructor
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 261
Email: henryh@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Creative writing.            

Andrea Hilkovitz, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 315
Email: hilkovia@mtmary.edu
Expertise: World literature, comparative literature.

Tanya V. Keenan, M.A.
Instructor and Coordinator of the Writing Sequence
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 395
Email: keenant@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Composition.             

JoAnn Early Macken, M.F.A.
Instructor
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 426
Email: mackenj@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Nonfiction writing, writing for children and young adults.            

Christopher Mohar, M.F.A.
Instructor
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 315
Email: moharc@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Creative writing.            

Laura Otto, M.F.A.
Associate Professor
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 289
Email: ottol@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Writing for New Media, creative writing, journalism.             

Paula Reiter, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 283
Email: reiterp@mtmary.edu
Expertise: 19th century British fiction, narrative techniques, novel writing, linguistics.            

Lisa Beranek Terasa, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor and Chair of the English Department
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 420
Email: terasal@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Composition, literature, popular culture, food and literature.             

Jane A. Thompson
Instructor
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 488
Email: thompsj@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Composition and literature.           

back to top  |  back to program

Divider

History

S. Linda Marie Bos, SSND, M.A., Ph.D.
Associate Professor and History Chairperson
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 429
Email: boslm@mtmary.edu
Expertise: online teaching, religious and general history.

Julie Tatlock, Ph.D.
Instructor
Phone: (414) 258-4810
Email: tatlockj@mtmary.edu
Expertise: World civilizations, United States history, Middle East, Africa, Tudor England, United Nations

Monica Witkowski, Ph.D.
Instructor
Phone: (414) 258-4810
Email: witkowsm@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Women in Colonial America

back to top  |  back to program

Divider

International Studies/World Languages

Mary Ellen Kohn-Buday, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, World Languages Department Chair
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 347
Email: kohnbudm@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Spanish literature in the Golden Age, languages for translation, culture

Nan Metzger
Study Abroad Program Director
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 459
Email: metzgern@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Study abroad

Joe Fricano
Instructor, Spanish
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 269 or ext. 395
Email: fricanoj@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Spanish language and pedagogy, bilingual education

Kathryn Meyler
Instructor, French
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 269 or ext. 395
Email: meylerk@mtmary.edu
Expertise: French language and culture

back to top  |  back to program

Divider

Philosophy

James Conlon, Ph.D.
Professor and Liberal Studies Program Director
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 406
Email: conlonj@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Modern and contemporary philosophy; philosophy of film, art, travel and love

Jennifer Dragseth Hockenbery, Ph.D.
Professor and Philosophy Chairperson
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 407
Email: hockenj@mtmary.edu
Expertise: History of philosophy, ancient philosophy, ethics, philosophy of religion, philosophy of women

Joan Braune, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Phone:  (414) 258 4810 ext 361
Email:braunej@mtmary.edu

back to top  |  back to program

Divider

Theology

Shawnee Daniels-Sykes, SSND, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Theology
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 473
Email: sykess@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Moral theology, biomedical ethics, African-American theology
Download CV..

Jennifer Laske, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor and Theology Chairperson
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 470
Email: laskej@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Historical and systematic theology

Donald Rappé, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 482
Email: rapped@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Biblical theology, study abroad in Rome

Helga Kisler, Ph.D.
Phone: (414) 258-4810, ext. 480
Email: kislerh@mtmary.edu

back to top  |  back to program